Turn to your Neighbor

You can easily have your participants turn to their neighbors for a quick discussion using Seshboard's 'Turn to your Neighbor' feature. When you use Turn to your Neighbor, each of your participants in the circle will get paired with the people next to them in the discussion circle for a private conversation. But, just like in-person, everyone will remain where they are in the circle, and will be able to see (but not hear!) the rest of the group. This is a great way to inject some quick and spontaneous interaction into your session without needing to send everyone off into breakout groups.


Starting Turn to your Neighbor


To start the Turn to your Neighbor feature, first click the "Turn to your Neighbor" button in the toolbar at the bottom of the screen to open the Turn to your Neighbor menu:



You can choose how many people will be in each discussion group by clicking the plus and minus buttons. When you are ready to start the activity, click the "Start" button:



Choosing whether to include facilitators in the Turn to your Neighbor activity


Before you start the Turn to your Neighbor activity, you have the option to include or exclude facilitators from the discussion pairs.


If facilitators are included, you and your co-facilitators will be each be paired with your neighbors in the circle and take part in the group conversations.


If facilitators are excluded, then you and your co-facilitators will be temporarily moved to your own section of the circle and will not be paired with participants for the activity. If you have co-facilitators in the session, you and your co-facilitators will be able to talk among yourselves while your participants are paired with their neighbors.


When you open the Turn to your Neighbor menu, you will see that facilitators are included by default. To exclude facilitators from the activity, click the toggle button.



After clicking this toggle button, you and your co-facilitators will be moved to your own section of the circle to talk among yourselves for the duration of the activity.


When there are uneven numbers of participants


By default, participants are paired with their neighbors according to the number of users per group that you have specified. If the number of participants in the room cannot be divided into groups of equal size, the remaining participants will be paired together with the final group in the circle. For example, if there are ten participants in the room, and you specify three users per group, then the system will create two groups of three participants and one group of four participants to accommodate all ten participants.


During Turn to your Neighbor


During Turn to your Neighbor, participants will not be able to hear what the people in the other discussion groups are saying. During the activity, all the other people who are not in the participant's pair will continue to be visible, but their videos will be smaller than usual and will appear in black-and-white. The different pair groups are indicated by the coloured rings around the participants' videos:



Using other features with Turn to your Neighbor


You can combine Turn to your Neighbor with other features in Seshboard. For example, you can show a YouTube video to the group at the same time you're running Turn to your Neighbor - this is a great way to let your participants discuss the video you are showing with their neighbor.


You can also run a timer during the Turn to your Neighbor activity to timebox the discussion, or run Flash Polls, present PDF slides, and use Miro and Google Docs.


Stopping Turn to your Neighbor


To stop Turn to your Neighbor, click the "Stop" button on the Turn to your Neighbor menu. If you have already closed this menu, you can open again it by clicking the "Turn to your Neighbor" button in the toolbar at the bottom of the screen.