Google Docs

Google Docs is integrated directly into Seshboard, making it easy for you and your participants to collaborate on a shared document during your sessions.

Starting Google Docs

To start Google Docs, click the "Google Docs" button in the toolbar at the bottom of the screen to open the Google Docs menu:


Creating a new Google Doc

To create a new Google document, click the "Create new Google doc" button in the Google Docs menu:


The Google Doc you create will be saved to your Google Drive. This means you need to be signed into your Google account on the device you are using. If you are not signed into your Google account, Seshboard will ask you to sign into Google.


The first time you use the Google Doc feature in Seshboard, you will need to give Seshboard permission to create new Google Docs in your Google Drive.


Seshboard does not have any access to any of the files in your Google Drive except for those Google Docs you create using Seshboard.


Selecting your previous Google Docs


If you have previously created Google Docs in your room, you can select these from the dropdown menu in the Google Docs menu:



Only the documents that have been created in a given room can be accessed in that room.


Google Docs can be created by co-facilitators


If you designate a co-facilitator for your session, they will have the ability to create new Google Docs as well.

Working with Google Docs


When you are ready to begin working on your Google Doc, click the "Start" button in the Google Docs menu. The Google Doc will appear in the middle of the screen:


Your participants do not need to be signed in to their Google accounts in order to collaborate on the Google Doc. They will appear as anonymous editors of the document.


If you have created more than one Google Doc in a room, you can easily switch between them by clicking the dropdown menu in the bottom left hand corner of the Google Doc:


Controlling the size of the Google Doc


You and your participants can easily expand the Google Doc by clicking the "Resize" icon at the top right hand corner of the tool and selecting your preferred size:



By default, when facilitators resize the Google Doc, it will be resized for everyone else in the room at the same time. This is to help ensure that all of the participants experience the tool in the way the facilitator expects. Facilitators can choose to resize the Google Doc for themselves, without resizing it for everyone else in the room, by disabling the "Change for everyone" toggle in the resize menu.

When the Google Doc is expanded, users' videos will be repositioned in a row at the top of the screen to make extra room for the Google Doc:


Stopping Google Docs

To stop Google Docs, click the "Stop" button at the bottom right hand corner of the Google Doc.