Breakout sessions

Seshboard makes running breakouts easy by letting you save your breakout group assignments in advance. You can continnue using any of Seshboard's integrated tools like Miro, YouTube and Google Docs during breakout sessions. You can also keep showing your PDF presentation slides to your breakout groups, so they can see the instructions or discussion prompts on your slides after they have been sent into their breakout groups.


For training and evaluation scenarios, where it is important to be able to observe your breakout groups unobtrusively, you can enable "Training Mode." For more details, navigate to the "Training Mode" section below.


Creating a new breakout session


To create a new Breakout session, first click the "Breakout Sessions" button in the toolbar at the bottom of the screen to open the Breakout Sessions menu, and click the "+ New breakout" button:



This will open the Create Breakout screen, where you can assign participants to different groups. Seshboard gives you the option to automatically assign participants according to the number of participants you'd like per group, or according to the total number of groups you need. You can select between these options in the drop down menu in the top left hand corner of the Create Breakout screen. You can re-assign participants from one group to another by dragging them to the other group, or swap their position with another participant by dragging them directly onto that participant. You can also randomize the participants across these different groups by clicking the "Randomize" button in the bottom right hand corner of the Create Breakout screen.


By default, "offline users" are excluded from the list of users on the Create Breakout screen. To include them, click the "Offline users" toggle.



Adding a timer


You can timebox your breakout session by adding a timer. To do so, click the "Add timer" button at the top of the Create Breakout screen. You can adjust the duration of the timer by clicking the "+" and "-" icons on either side of the timer.


Note, the breakout timer is just for you and your participants' reference, and the breakout session will not automatically end when the timer runs out.


Saving breakout group assignments


You can set multiple breakout group assignments up in advance so they're ready for you to launch at the appropriate time during your session. To do this, give your breakout a name in the "Breakout name" field at the top of the Create Breakout screen, and click the "Save" button at the top right hand side of the Create Breakout screen:



Training Mode


Training Mode is designed for scenarios where, for training and evaluation purposes, it's important for the facilitator to be able to observe a breakout group in action without interrupting it. When Training Mode is enabled, facilitators can observe breakout groups without being visible or audible to the members of that group. Instead, the participants in the breakout group will see a banner informing them that Training Mode is enabled, and they will see a message informing them of whether the facilitator is currently paying attention to their group or not. Facilitators can only observe breakout groups in this manner when Training Mode has been enabled.


To enable Training Mode, click the Training Mode slider at the top of the Breakout Sessions menu when setting up your Breakout.


Moving between breakout groups and the main room


As a facilitator, you can move from one breakout group to another. To do so, click the Breakout Sessions button in the toolbar at the bottom of the screen during the breakout session to open the Breakout Sessions menu. Select the breakout group number to join that group:



Clicking the "All" button will take you to the main room, where you can see an overview of each of the breakout groups:



Presenting PDF slides during breakouts


If you were presenting PDF slides when you started the breakout session, your slides will continue being shown during the breakout session.


If you were not presenting PDF slides when you started the breakout session, you can start doing so by clicking the "Present a PDF" button in the toolbar at the bottom of the screen.


Stopping the breakout session


To stop the breakout session, click the "Stop" button on the Breakout Sessions menu. If you have already closed this menu, you can open again it by clicking the Breakout Sessions button in the toolbar at the bottom of the screen. When you click the "Stop" button, you and your participants will see a 10-second countdown timer along with a message that the breakout session will be ending shortly: